Funniest Vacation Rental Story Ever!

Happy-New-Year-Pictures-4The following is my very favorite “funny” vacation rental story.  You will also find this story buried in the “About Me” section of this blog.  Since the “About Me” section is easy to miss … I thought I’d kick the New Year off with a laugh! 

I was jolted out of a dead-sleep by the William Tell Overture.  What I thought was a clever ring tone for my “emergency” cell phone lost its humor at 1 a.m. in the morning.  In response to my groggy “hello” was a very agitated security guard telling me that one of my tenants had locked herself out of her vacation home …. without any clothes on!  Quickly dressing, I grabbed my ring of emergency keys and dashed out not knowing what to expect.  The plan was to pick up my tenant at the guard house of the country club where she was staying and deliver her and a set of keys back to her vacation home.  I braced myself for what I anticipated would be a very embarrassed and very upset guest.  As I approached, from the guard house emerged a tall and extremely beautiful woman, head up, shoulders back proudly wrapped in a mattress pad just as a queen wears a royal cape.  I will call her Sue.  Waving her thanks to the two security guards, Sue jumped into the passenger seat of my car before I had a chance to pull over and, thank goodness, she was laughing!  She explained, “I shopped all day at the Cabazon Outlet stores and returned to the condo tired, hot and thirsty.  I pulled into the garage and immediately went inside, closed the blinds, stripped out of my clothes, poured a glass of wine and sat down to cool off and watch the late night news.  Before going to bed I decided to unload the car.  I propped open the door between the condo and garage with the fire extinguisher and made several trips between the condo and my car.  I was retrieving my last bag out of the trunk, the mattress cover, when I heard the fire extinguisher slide across the floor and the door slam shut.  The door was locked … keys in my purse … inside the condo!”  This poor woman sat in the garage, wrapped in the mattress cover, lights off and garage door wide open for two hours until she saw the security guard in the patrol car making his rounds.  She ran out and flagged him down!  As we got out of my car Sue parted her Bed, Bath and Beyond cape and showed me that she was indeed wearing undergarments which looked very much like she had dressed to go swimming.  Sue explained that “this is one of the funniest things that has ever happened to me.  My husband made a trip back home for a meeting but will return in a couple of days.  Please don’t mention this to him … he would be so embarrassed.”  Sue and her husband returned several times after that and Sue and I always had a bit of a laugh about her “exciting” shopping episode.  As far as I know, Sue never told her husband.  Post Note:  I changed my emergency ring tone the next morning.

One fact I have learned through my eighteen years in this crazy vacation rental business, you never know what will happen next.   No two days, no two properties, owners or guests are ever the same.  From lost keys to leaking toilets to mysteriously blinking lights to broken air conditioners in the middle of the night at temperatures over 110 degree, during our rental season there is never a dull moment.  One thing remains constant, everything is an emergency to the person reporting the problem and it is our responsibility as vacation rental professionals to rectify these problems as quickly as possible … no matter how insignificant they may seem.  And so, as crazy as it might sound … I love this business, despite the daily challenges, conflicts in personalities, things that make you say hummmm, things that keep you awake at night and things that make you laugh so hard you almost wet your pants.  So as any proud mother might say … I love my baby … even if it does drive me crazy sometimes.

Happy 2015 everyone!

3af380b7437c8dde1d2f6def5fa373Logo Vector Final 11-24-09

Leave a Reply

