To Bidet or Not To Bidet?

mocha-dad-shakespeare-blog-cartoon That is the Question!

OK …  today I’d like to ask for my reader’s thoughts on a particular topic.  I’m torn on this issue and need to get everyone’s views and thoughts and hope to start a discussion on a somewhat sensitive subject.

I recently signed up a new property.  I just found out that the owner is adding an electric bidet.  My first thoughts are … Yikes!  Not good!  But after speaking to the owner, who is adamant about the bidet, I have been assured that the toilet will look and operate like a regular toilet.  There is apparently a remote control that allows the toilet to be switched over to operate as a bidet.  After some research on the internet, I’m still not totally sold on the idea.  Will there be sanitation or cleanliness issues?  Special cleaning?  Complicated operating instructions?  Easily broken?  And most importantly, will it be a turn-off to potential guests?

We manage only a few properties that are furnished with standard, free-standing bidets, and it has been my experience, when showing these vacation homes, that prospective tenants are often uncomfortable with this “questionable” amenity.  Many times they will even make negative comments.  Perhaps it is more of a European “thing” … not certain, but if guests are uncomfortable with a separate bidet, how are they going to feel about a combination toilet/bidet?  I have also experienced some resistance with handicap fitted toilets.  Guests who are not handicapped typically will ask for an alternate property.  So apparently toilets can be a touchy subject.

Is it just me?  Am I overly concerned about something that could be a plus?  Please share your thoughts … I’m very interested.  AND … should I add the “electric bidet” to the property description?  Maybe it’s no big deal … maybe it is, but I’d love to get your input and thoughts on how to present “the bidet” to potential guests.

I definitely have a negative opinion on this subject, and this may have something to do with my personal views …   I have traveled extensively outside the U.S.  I have seen lots and lots of bidets in my travels and honestly never gave them much of a thought … until … the bidet that caught my attention and very much disturbed me.  It was in a public restroom in a large shopping mall in Cairo, Egypt.  Picture this … the toilet had a small copper tube protruding from the center of the hole inside the toilet bowel.  The tube ended just above the water level. There was an on/off valve fixed to the outside of the toilet that when turned on, apparently would shoot water out of the copper tube. Wrong in so many ways!  I’m afraid this sight contaminated my thoughts on bidets … for life.  Pun absolutely intended!

Am I being too critical?

What are your thoughts?

3af380b7437c8dde1d2f6def5fa373Logo Vector Final 11-24-09

 

 

Photo:  http://under30ceo.com/top-ten-reasons-why-start-up-companies-need-to-blog/mocha-dad-shakespeare-blog-cartoon/

Comments

  1. Electricity and water don’t usually mix, possible electrocution! I personally don’t care for bidets either, but it would be interesting to get a point of view from someone who has used them. I don’t think I would mention it in property description unless you feel enough people would ask to be relocated once in the property….that would mean more work for you and loss of money for the owners.

    • Good point about electricity and water. In my search I found many manufactures and all claimed they were safe. I also would like to hear from anyone who has experience with an electric bidet. Thank you for the input Jan.

Leave a Reply

