One Can Never Have Too Much Good Luck!

5985

One of the things I love most about my job is getting to view new properties and meet new people.  Every property is unique and usually an extension of the owner’s taste and personality.

A few years back, I found myself at the doorstep of what would soon become one of my most popular and talked about properties of all time.  The first thing I noticed upon entering was the spectacular life-sized sitting Buddha.  He was seated in the corner on a pedestal behind a large sectional sofa in a very inviting living room.  I was immediately drawn to this unique statue and said so to the owners.   They explained that the Buddha was an antique and the evidence of patina attested to the age and value of the piece.  The owners explained that they had purchased the Buddha many, many years ago at an estate sale and since then it had traveled with them from home to home.  The owners further explained that they were interested in the legends of the Far East and in fact had a Buddhist Monk preform a professional “feng shui”  on their vacation home.  I was wholly fascinated and could hardly wait to get home and research the subject.  All I knew at the time was that I had fallen in love with the property.

For those of you who are not familiar with “feng Shui,” below I have posted an explanation in layman’s terms from a wonderful website, written by Rodika Tchi, a feng shui expert.

What is feng shui?

This is a simple question that can be difficult to answer. Feng shui is an ancient art and science developed over 3,000 years ago in China. It is a complex body of knowledge that reveals how to balance the energies of any given space to assure health and good fortune for people inhabiting itClick to continue reading ….

The property owners were pleased by my interest, but asked whether I thought the Buddha would be offensive to certain potential clients.  Apparently they had interviewed a competing vacation rental management company who had told them that the Buddha “must go.”  Today, Buddha and Eastern décor are the rage.  Seems almost every home has at least one Buddha incorporated into their décor.  “Zen is In,” as they say … and the terms Zen and Spa are practically synonymous.  Ten years ago, when I first visited this property … Buddha was still a strong religious symbol.  I followed my instincts and told the owners that I thought the Buddha might be a draw … maybe even an enhancement.  My only concern was the value of the antique piece and the possibility of accidental damage.  The owners assured me that they had specifically chosen the spot behind the sofa for safety, that they had insurance on the piece … and of course I should remember the protection of Buddha!  So with no further hesitation, I quickly signed them up to our program.

Of course pictures were taken of the condo and the leading photo was of Buddha.  In my description I explained that the property had been professionally feng shui’d, and as a result, the entire home had a comfortable and inviting feel.  I also included a complete definition of feng shui.

It didn’t take long before people started requesting this particular property.  We definitely had a very unique property on our hands and our guests loved the home.  Now I will tell you that this was not a spectacular home.  The very best feature of the entire property was the Buddha.  Even though it was nicely furnished and comfortable, it was considered “average” among our many properties … however there was just “something about it” that made it “more” than it should have been … perhaps it was the Eastern influence?

Whatever that “something” was, it quickly became our most popular and requested property of all times.  No damage ever came to the Buddha … but may lightning strike me now if I’m not telling the truth … every, every, every guest left a gift in Buddha’s lap when they left.  Most of the time it would be flowers but we also found a small teddy bear one time, a toy racing car and even an unopened box of See’s chocolates!

We only had the property on our rental program for three seasons … but its popularity grew every year and not once did anyone complain or seem offended by the Buddha.  I was happy that I had trusted my instincts and not been influenced by another’s concerns.

I have four Buddhas in my office, two Buddhas in my home and one in my car.  Buddhas are lucky … and one can never have too much good luck!

Buddha Statue:  http://oriental-decor.com/product/5985.html

3af380b7437c8dde1d2f6def5fa373Logo Vector Final 11-24-09

Leave a Reply

